Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



HANS ENERGY COMPANY LIMITED

漢思能源有限公司 (Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock code: 00554)

(1) APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND (2) COMPLIANCE WITH RULES 3.10(1) AND 3.21 OF THE LISTING RULES

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of Hans Energy Company Limited (the "**Company**") is pleased to announce that with effect from 15 March 2022, Mr. Chung Chak Man, William ("**Mr. Chung**") has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company.

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. Chung Chak Man, William ("**Mr. Chung**") has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company and a member of the nomination committee, remuneration committee and audit committee of the Board with effect from 15 March 2022.

The biographical details of Mr. Chung are set out as below:

Mr. Chung, aged 63, has extensive experience in business management in the public transportation industry. Since January 2021, he has been the vice chairman of Bravo Transport Services Limited ("**Bravo Transport**"), which is the holding company of Citybus Limited ("**Citybus**") and New World First Bus Services Limited ("**New World First Bus**") and the vice chairman of Citybus and New World First Bus. Mr. Chung has been a director of Bravo Transport since 1 April 2019, a director of Citybus since March 2004, and a director of New World First Bus since February 2010. He was previously the managing director of Citybus and New World First Bus from April 2019 to January 2021. From March 2004 to March 2019, Mr. Chung was the head of operations of Citybus and New World First Bus. He was also an executive director of Kwoon Chung Bus Holdings Limited (stock code: 306) from June 2008 to May 2014.

Mr. Chung is a chartered fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong (the "**CILTHK**") and has been serving the CILTHK as a council member since October 2016. He has been a non-official member of the Road Safety Strategic Engagement Working Group in the Road Safety Council since August 2019, and a member of the Accessible Transport and Travel Committee in the Hong Kong Society for Rehabilitation since November 2019.

Mr. Chung received his Master of Business Administration from the University of South Australia in April 2003. He also received a Higher Certificate in Motor Vehicle Engineering from the Lee Wai Lee Technical Institute in July 1992, and a Professional Diploma in Business Studies (Transport) from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in November 1983.

Mr. Chung has entered into a letter of appointment with the Company pursuant to which he has agreed to act as an independent non-executive director for a term of three years commencing from 15 March 2022, unless terminated in accordance with the terms of the letter of appointment. Pursuant to the articles of association of the Company (as amended from time to time), Mr. Chung will hold office until the next following general meeting of the Company but shall be eligible for re-election. Thereafter, he shall be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the articles of association of the Company. Pursuant to the letter of appointment, Mr. Chung will receive a director's fee of HK\$180,000 per annum, which is determined with reference to his duties and responsibilities with the Company and the prevailing market conditions, and discretionary award or bonus as may be determined by, and at the discretion of, the Board from time to time.

Save as disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Mr. Chung (i) does not hold any position in the Company; (ii) does not have any other major appointments or professional qualifications; (iii) does not, nor did he hold any directorship in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years; and (iv) does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Further, as at the date of this announcement, Mr. Chung is not interested in and does not hold any shares or underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

So far as the Board is aware, save as disclosed above, there are no other matters concerning the appointment of Mr. Chung that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company, and Mr. Chung has confirmed that there is no other information that should be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing Rules").

The Board would like to take this opportunity to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Chung.

COMPLIANCE WITH RULES 3.10(1) AND 3.21 OF THE LISTING RULES

Following the appointment of Mr. Chung as an independent non-executive director of the Company and the appointment of Mr. Chung as a member of the Audit Committee with effect from 15 March 2022:

- (a) the Board has six directors, three of whom are independent non-executive directors of the Company. Accordingly, the Company is in compliance with the requirements of Rule 3.10(1) of the Listing Rules; and
- (b) the Audit Committee comprises three members, all of whom are independent nonexecutive directors. Accordingly, the Company is in compliance with the requirements of Rule 3.21 of the Listing Rules.

By order of the Board Hans Energy Company Limited 漢思能源有限公司 Yang Dong Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 15 March 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises three executive directors, namely, Mr. David An (Chairman), Mr. Yang Dong and Mr. Zhang Lei, and three independent nonexecutive directors, namely, Mr. Li Wai Keung, Mr. Chan Chun Wai, Tony and Mr. Chung Chak Man, William.